Photographing Your Finished Objects

Over the past few weeks, I have been admiring the items featured on Ravelry’s Community Eye Candy as I’m sure many of us have. Many of the projects have made me look into the pattern used. One thing I have noticed is that each item is wonderfully captured. While I do have a DSLR that I absolutely adore, I have realized that most of my projects have a photo that was snapped on my cell phone because I cannot stand having a blank project page. For KALs, I want to update my projects quickly and easily. Yes, my Galaxy takes pretty good photos, but a lot of times, its just a quick snap shot with horrible dorm lighting.

How do you photograph your knits? Do you do a photo shoot with them? Do you have someone photograph you wearing them? One thing I would like to start doing with all of my projects is take a good photograph of my finished objects, not just a quick cellphone snap shot. How do you go about capturing your finished objects?

3 thoughts on “Photographing Your Finished Objects

  1. Something I always struggle with! Once I finally finish a project, I’m so eager to blog it that I often rush the photos (like you, using my cell phone), which sometimes results in a disappointing overall look. I wish I had a DSLR to play with, but I’m pretty sure that I wouldn’t use it as much as I should anyway!

  2. Well, I am really bad at getting good shots myself as I just use my Samsung G2 tablet to capture photos, and always with bad lighting. I have actual cameras around to use, but they just aren’t as fast to upload or edit with.

    • I think that’s what a lot of us do – we want a picture up NOW because hurray! We finally finished, even if it doesn’t capture our hard work as well as it should.

      Glad to see I’m not the only one who puts the quickness of a photo over the quality of it due to the ease of phones and tablets. I love using my tablet to upload photos and its so easy to carry around.

Leave a Reply

